New Oath of Citizenship Recognizes First Nations, Inuit and Métis Rights

OTTAWA: Gerald Soroka, Member of Parliament for Yellowhead, is pleased to advise that Canada’s Oath of Citizenship officially recognizes First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and the obligation that all citizens have to uphold the treaties between the Crown and Indigenous nations.
The new Oath of Citizenship recognizes that Indigenous rights are both enshrined in section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, and that they derive from the historic use of this land by Indigenous peoples. As new Canadians recite the Oath, they will make a personal commitment to observe the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples.
As of June 14, Indigenous peoples can now reclaim their traditional names on passports and other documents, fulfilling Call to Action 17.